Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search


Visit our
D&D Awards
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features Join Group
Share |

Flyer for 2017 D&D Awards


A list of D&D Past Award Winners can be found here.

Each year the awards listed below are sponsored by the Design and Development Division of AECT.


Don’t miss this opportunity to be recognized for your work and present that work at the conference —submit your nomination(s) as soon as possible!


Winners of AECT’s Design and Development Division Awards will be recognized at the D&D/RTD Luncheon and will be invited to deliver a presentation at a joint session with other winners during AECT’s Fall International Convention to held in Jacksonville, Florida on November 6-11, 2017.


Information about each of the awards, including how to submit nominations, is detailed below. Please note that you may nominate your own work as well as the work of others. Nominations and accompanying materials must be received by March 15, 2017.


Outstanding Journal Article Award


Articles nominated must have been published no earlier than 2016 in a regularly published journal, and should be relevant to the broad field of instructional design. Anyone may submit a nomination.


The nomination procedure is outlined below:


·       Nominations will be by email. Self-nominations are welcomed. If you desire, you may include a short statement providing your rationale for the nomination.

·       A complete bibliographic citation should be included in the letter.

·       Current email address for the nominee should be included in the letter.

·       Send one PDF electronic copy of the article retaining the original published format to Do not send a PDF file of a submitted manuscript, page proofs, etc. Manuscripts that do not conform to these guidelines will not be considered.


Professor Dr. Dirk Ifenthaler
Instructional Design and Technology
University of Mannheim
L4, 1, 68131
Mannheim, Germany


Outstanding Book Award


Books nominated must bear a copyright date of 2016, 2017, or 2018 and should be relevant to the field of instructional design. Anyone (readers, authors, or publishers) who is aware of a book believed to warrant an award is encouraged to nominate it. The nomination procedure is outlined below:


·       Nominations will be by signed letter. Electronic submissions of letters are appropriate. You may include a short statement providing your rationale for nominating the book.

·       Complete bibliographic information should be included IN YOUR LETTER OF NOMINATION:  author(s), name of book, where published and by whom, date of publication, and ISBN number if known.

·       You may provide as enclosures:  copies of reviews, promotional literature, or other informational materials which help to describe the nature and quality of the book.


Send five copies of the nominated book and all of the above material to:


Dr. Karen Kaminski

School of Education

209 Education Building

Colorado State University

Fort Collins, CO 80523-1588

(970) 491-3713


Outstanding Practice Award

This award will be given to those individuals or groups that have designed exemplary instructional materials or systems. The materials or systems must have been designed no earlier than 2016. In assessing the quality of the work submitted, judges will examine:


·       the instructional events (activities that constitute the materials or system)

·       the directions for using the materials or events

·       performance data and/or attitude data regarding the effectiveness of the instructional material or system (this information must be provided in order for the nomination to be considered)


Please discuss these items in your cover letter. To be considered for the award, send the material or system that was designed (or a description of the material or system), along with a cover letter to:


Dr. Brenda Bannan

George Mason University, Fairfax Campus

Thompson Hall L043

4400 University Dr. MS 5D6

Fairfax, VA 22030

(703) 993-2067


Nova Southeastern Award for Outstanding Practice by a Graduate Student in Instructional Design


This award, which includes a $250 cash award, will be given to a graduate student who has designed exemplary instructional materials. The materials must have been designed while the nominee was enrolled as a graduate student and no earlier than 2016. Nominations must include the materials that were designed along with a cover letter describing why the materials are exemplary, and should be sent to:


Dr. Michael Simonson

Nova Southeastern University

1750 NE 167th St.

North Miami Beach, FL 33162

1-800-986-3223 ext. 2-8563




Robert M. Gagne Award for Graduate Student Research in Instructional Design


This award, which will include a $250 check to the winner, will be given to a graduate student who has made a significant contribution to the body of knowledge upon which instructional design practices are based. The work must have been completed no earlier than 2016, while the nominee was enrolled as a graduate student. You may nominate any individual (including yourself) for the Robert M. Gagne Award. Nominations should include one unbound hard copy of the single piece of work (journal article, dissertation, etc.) being nominated, a PDF file of that same piece of work, and a brief cover letter. Send these materials to:


Dr. Janette Hill
850 College Station Road
The University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
(706) 254



AECT • 320 W. 8th St. Ste 101 • Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-AECT • Phone: 812-335-7675 • Email: